Curing AM Frequency Offset on the IC-7300

30Mar17

ICOM IC-7300 HF Plus 50 MHz Transceivers IC-7300

My new ICOM IC-7300 transceiver has been loads of fun, but the scope was not
displaying the frequency correctly for signals I was copying. I was listening to a
local AM signal on 570 kHz and had to offset the frequency display by 1 or 2 kHz
to have it sound intelligible. Also, the CW signals I had copied on 40 and 20 meters
did not line up exactly.

I installed the latest firmware version (1.14). You can do this by following the
instructions in chapter 15 of the full manual. The update solved the CW issue and
the signals on the scope were exactly where I expected them to show up. To my
horror, there was no improvement with the AM stations. This was very
discouraging and I was just about ready to send my 7300 back to ICOM!

At about the same time, it occurred to me that maybe there was a setting that
may have gotten changed inadvertently. The manual says this could be caused by
“static electricity or other factors” (probably me). I decided to do a reset which
was fairly simple:

1. Tap the “menu” button
2. Tap the “set” button.
3. Tap the “others” button
4. Tap reset.
5. Tap the “All reset” button and follow the on-screen instructions.

“All reset” clears all data and returns all settings to their factory defaults. If you
have settings or memories you want to save, you could try a “partial reset” first
and try the “all reset” if that doesn’t work. I went to the “all reset.” You can also
save your settings to an SD card prior to the reset (recommended).

The reset solved the problem with the scope and copy of AM signals. I know of
other people who had this problem, so I hope this can be of help to you.
73 and enjoy your IC-7300!

Author: Dave Fairbanks, N8NB, DX Engineering

No Responses Yet to “Curing AM Frequency Offset on the IC-7300”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

